King’s speech wins an unprecedented 7 BAFTAs


The King’s Speech wins seven BAFTAs including Best Film, Leading Actor for Colin Firth, Supporting Actor for Geoffrey Rush and Supporting Actress for Helena Bonham Carter

Natalie Portman wins Leading Actress

The Social Network and Inception win three BAFTAs each

Alice in Wonderland takes home two awards

The King’s Speech was named Best Film at tonight’s Orange British Academy Film Awards, held at London’s Royal Opera House. The film also won six other awards: Outstanding British Film, Original Screenplay and Original Music, as well as a trio of performance awards for Geoffrey Rush, Helena Bonham Carter and Colin Firth, who wins the Leading Actor BAFTA for the second year running.
Natalie Portman was awarded the BAFTA for Leading Actress for her performance as Nina Sayers in Black Swan.

David Fincher won the Director award for The Social Network and Aaron Sorkin took home the BAFTA for Adapted Screenplay. The film also won the Editing award.

Inception won the Production Design, Sound and Special Visual Effects BAFTAs.

Director Chris Morris received the award for Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer for his first feature film Four Lions.

Alice in Wonderland won the BAFTAs for Costume Design and Make Up & Hair. Toy Story 3 took home the award for Animated Film. True Grit won for Cinematography. The Film Not in the English Language BAFTA went to The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.

The Eagleman Stag won the Short Animation award and the Short Film award was presented to Until the River Runs Red

The Orange Wednesdays Rising Star Award was presented to Tom Hardy, star of Inception and Bronson. This award, the only one voted for by the public, recognises an international actor or actress who has demonstrated exceptional talent and has begun to be recognised as a film star in the making. The award is now in its sixth year and was created in honour of Mary Selway, the highly respected casting director who passed away in 2004.

The highest accolade which the Academy can bestow, the Fellowship, was presented to Christopher Lee. The award for Outstanding British Contribution to Cinema was received by JK Rowling and David Heyman on behalf of The Harry Potter Films.

Source: BAFTA 14th February 2011

Leave A Reply